Hilary Brougher is a screenwriter and director living and working in N.Y.C. Her first feature, THE STICKY FINGERS OF TIME (1996) waproduced by Isen Robbins, Susan Stover and Good Machine and was s an official selection at the Venice, Rotterdam, and Toronto International Film Festivals. It was released theatrically in the U.S. in 1997. Her second feature, STEPHANIE DALEY starred Tilda Swinton, Amber Tamblyn, Melissa Leo, Tim Hutton and Denis O’Hare. The film premiered at the 2006 Sundance Film Festival where it won The Waldo Salt Award for Screenwriting. and was also awarded Best Director at the Milan International Film Festival. Current projects include an original feature in post production, SOUTH MOUNTAIN, starring Talia Balsam, Scott Cohen, Andrus Nichols, Michael Oberholtzer, Naian Gonzalez, Macaulee Rusnak, and Midori Francis; METHOD 15/33, an adaptation of Shannon Kirk's thriller produced by Mary Jane Skalski and Damon Lane in development, and a documentary STRIPER, co-directed with Maria Rosenblum in production.


Hilary is also a full time member of faculty in Directing at Columbia University’s MFA Film Program.





Hilary Brougher 2016 Photo by Ethan Mass


Sundance Film Festival 2006, Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award

Milan International Film Festival, 2006 Best Director

Jackson Hole International  Film Festival, 2006 Best Director





The Sticky Fingers of Time:

The Venice International Film Festival, 1997

The Rotterdam International Film Festival, 1997

The Toronto International Film Festival, 1997

South by Southwest 1997

Philadelphia Film Festival, 1997

Mar Del Plata International Film Festival, 1997

Maine International Film Festival, 1997

The Olympia Film Festival , 1997


Stephanie Daley:

Sundance, 2006 (Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award)

AFI, 2006

Maine International Film Festival, 2006

Milan International Film Festival, 2006 (Best Director)

Deauville International Film Festival, 2006

Locarno Film Festival (Best Actress – Amber Tamblyn) 2006

Woodstock Film Festival (Best Cinematography – David Morrison) 2006